A Toronto-based music junkie storehouse

Wave Maker Magazine’s Farewell

Thats-All-Folks

Boy, oh, boy, where do I begin?

As you may have noticed, Wave Maker Magazine has been inactive since March 6, 2014. Since that time, I’ve been thrown into a maelstrom of unfortunate events, which have forced me to put W.M.M. on hold.

On March 12, 2014, my father passed away. I lacked the energy and motivation to do anything, so I trashed my untouched, but always growing, to-do lists and tucked my fat agenda under my bed. Saying “No” to being busy eventually gave me the opportunity to not only savor the time I had with my family and friends, but also savor the stillness and quiet that surrounded me as I grieved my loss. Unsurprisingly, it was also during this time when I realized that I could no longer stand the business of music, especially music journalism. I say “unsurprisingly,” because I knew that my passion for music journalism died a long time ago; I just needed a break from the rat race to help me accept it.

Wave Maker Magazine humbly began as a space for music enthusiasts to share their thoughts about the songs and artists they love. Over time, we garnered an international audience and featured and interviewed music legends and budding talents from all over the world. After graduating from a public relations program, I thought it would be a great idea to advance W.M.M. by starting my own music PR company. All seemed promising, until I burned out. Now, I didn’t just burn out, I burned out but kept pushing myself through the sludge.

The music business never sleeps. From the moment I woke up to the moment I fell asleep, I received dozens of emails promoting another artist to listen to and another show to attend. Many emails I’ve opened did not even address me by my name, so it felt as though I was a part of an assembly line. My tasks were to listen to music, write a review or interview, publish a review or interview, update social media, respond to comments, listen to music, write a review or interview, publish a review or interview, update social media, respond to comments… The routine was tedious and numbing. Toiling away at my uncomfortable desk and filling my schedule to the brim with needless tasks now leaves me with deep regrets – I spent so many hours burying my head in my laptop and not enough hours lazying around with my father as he lived out his final days. I vowed to make up for my regrets, and heal my broken heart, by never being reckless with my time again.

Parting ways is never easy (heck, I’ve been wussying out of publishing this post for a couple of months now!), but I am filled with excitement. I am excited that the end of W.M.M. will mean that I can now enjoy a live show without having to jot notes and take photos. I can now sit back and listen to music without having to break it apart for the sake of writing another review. I will no longer stumble upon snide tweets from lowly bloggers, and there will never be another prima donna to interview. My inbox will also never see another dry press release. Maybe now I’ll have the time to finish reading Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina and learn how to speak Spanish, so I can read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s books in its original text.

Now, before I tip my hat and bid you farewell, I would like to express my heart-felt gratitude. Thank you to all of the amazing artists who so kindly shared their music with us. You don’t know how many times I’ve fallen off my chair from listening to so many stellar albums. I’d like to thank the dedicated contributors who have stuck with me through thick and thin. Without you, W.M.M. would never have seen such success in so little time. I am eternally grateful. Finally, I’d like to say thank you to our readers who have showed us so much support over the years. I will never forget how awesome of a ride this was, and I owe it all to you.

 

Good luck,

Charmaine Santos
Founder & Editor-in-chief

 

Wave Maker Magazine will remain live, so you can read our past interviews and reviews and enjoy our diverse playlists. Who knows, a falling apple or the smoothest guitar lick might inspire me to resurrect W.M.M., but for now, I wish you all happiness, health, and love!

1 Response »

  1. Reblogged this on Feminatronic and commented:
    Technically not an Electronic music site but one Curated and Edited by Charmaine and only discovered by me recently but I will be reading back posts. Really sad to hear the demise of another wonderful music blog.

Leave a Reply

Our Newsletter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Wave Maker Magazine & receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,359 other followers

